USDOT Announces New Federal Committee on Automation

United States Department of Transportation logo

Henry Claypool, CLPC Policy Director, was recently named to a new U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) Committee on Automation. According to U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx, “This new automation committee will work to advance life-saving innovations while boosting our economy and making our transportation network more fair, reliable, and efficient.” The Committee will focus on automation across a number of modes, including the development and deployment of automated vehicles.

Other members of this Committee include leading professionals and experts in the automotive, engineering, ride-sharing, transportation, insurance, and information technology industries, as well as representatives from cities and universities.

This committee will play a critical role in sharing best practices, challenges, and opportunities in automation, and will open lines of communication so stakeholders can learn and adapt based on feedback from each other. They will play a needed role in helping the country prepare for its infrastructure needs in the coming years.

The full press release is available here:


Last modified Jun 7, 2017